Cricketer Virat Kohli Confirms He Will Step Down as India's T20I Captain After ICC T20 World Cup

Kohli has been the skipper of the Indian cricket team in all three formats since 2017, when ex-captain M.S. Dhoni quit as the leader of the South Asian side in the T20Is and ODIs. Kohli’s first brush with captaincy, however, came in 2014, when he took charge of the Test squad after Dhoni retired from the longest format in Australia.